San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas


The Texas State football team held a team draft this week with players selecting the rosters for Saturday’s Maroon-Gold Spring Game.


Texas State football coach Dennis Franchione.

Jordan Norfleet, Justin Iwuji, Devin Baker and Andy Erickson selected players for the Gold team, while Charlie Will Tuttle, Michael Orakpo, D.J. Yendrey and Isaiah Battle chose the Maroon team’s roster.

The Maroon-Gold Game kicks off at 6 p.m. at Bobcat Stadium.

The Gold team had the first pick in the draft, shoowing senior nose tackle Blake McColloch. The Maroon team followed by selecting Chris Nutall as its first pick following his strong performance in last Saturday’s scrimmage.

Admission to the game is free with fans welcome to tailgate before the game. The gates will open at 5 p.m. The stadium also will open a Kids Zone that includes a bounce house and face painting in the southwest corner.

The game will consist of four 10-minute quarters. The entire team will be available for autographs after the game. In addition, fans interested in purchasing season tickets can come to the stadium and select a seat beginning Saturday morning.

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.