San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas


The Hays County Commissioners Court will hold a ceremonial swearing-in for newly elected and re-elected county officials at 10 a.m. Wednesday, Jan. 2 at the Hays County Courthouse Commissioners Courtroom.

Hays County Judge Bert Cobb, who has been recovering from major spinal surgery for two months, is expected to preside over the ceremony, said Lon Shell, the judge’s chief of staff.

“We are looking forward to this opportunity to honor our elected officials as they start their terms of office,” Shell said.

Officials invited to participate include Pct. 3 Constable Darrell W. Ayres, 22nd District Court Judge Bruce Boyer, Tax Assessor-Collector Luanne Caraway, Pct. 3 Commissioner Will Conley, Sheriff Gary Cutler, Pct. 4 Constable Ron E. Hood, Pct. 1 Commissioner Debbie Gonzales Ingalsbe, Pct. 2 Constable James H. Kohler, Pct. 5 Constable Matt Mancillas III, Pct. 1 Constable David Peterson, and Justice of the Peace Pct. 1, Place 1 JoAnne Prado.

New office terms officially begin at midnight Dec. 31. Newly elected officials often take their real oaths of offices at unadorned late-night private events. Re-elected officials may have been re-sworn days or weeks ago. A public ceremony is usually held sometime after the first of the year.

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.