San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas

Johanna Hansen, Mayor Daniel Guerrero’s pre-school teacher at Alphabet Village, administers the oath of office for his second term on Monday, Nov. 19. PHOTO by DON ANDERS


Mayor Daniel Guerrero and city council members Ryan Thomason and Shane Scott took their oaths of office after the Nov. 6 election results were canvassed and certified at a special meeting Monday.

The three incumbents were re-elected by San Marcos voters two weeks ago. Voters also approved one non-binding proposition on the acquisition of Cape’s Camp for park purposes and defeated two other related non-binding propositions.

Guerrero first took office as mayor in November 2010. He previously served on the city council from May 2004 until November 2008. During his tenure as a City Council member, he was chosen as deputy mayor pro tem and mayor pro tem.

Thomason won his first term in Place 5 in 2009. He served as mayor pro tem in 2011 and 2012. Scott was first elected to complete a vacancy in November 2010 in Place 6 and won a full three year term on Nov. 6.

Under the City Charter, terms for mayor are two years and city council, three years. All seven City Council members serve at large in non-partisan positions. The elections are staggered so that two city council seats are up for election each year, and the mayor every other year.

Following the ceremony, the city council named council member John Thomaides as mayor pro tem and council member Wayne Becak as deputy mayor pro tem.

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *