San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas

Pedernales Electric Cooperative board members Patrick Cox, Cristi Clement and Larry Landaker were re-elected. COVER: The cooperative held its annual meeting at the Hays CISD Performing Arts Center in Kyle this year.


KYLE — Pedernales Electric members re-elected three incumbent board members whose terms were set to expire, officials announced to a crowd of about 750 people at the cooperative’s annual meeting in Kyle.

Wimberley resident Larry Landaker and Cristi Clement of Marble Falls both won over a field of competitors. Patrick Cox, also of Wimberley, ran unopposed for a third term. The newly re-elected board members will serve three more years.

The results:

District 1 Director
Christi Clement | Marble Falls 11,489
James P. Halbert | Burnet 5,347
Mark Mayfield | Marble Falls 4,458

District 6 Director
Larry Landaker | Wimberley 11,489
Linda Kaye Rogers | Wimberley 5,347
Michael Donegan | Wimberley 4,458
Mike “Doc” Cantu-Withoff | Canyon Lake 2,097

District 7 Director
Patrick Cox | Wimberley 18,472

Members also approved, 13,376 to 3,355, amendments to the cooperatives’ articles of incorporation allowing it use general reserves to pay interest and principal on debt.

At a special board meeting following the general members meeting, the body elected Kathy Scanlon of Austin as its chair and Cox as its vice chair. Dripping Springs resident Chris Perry was chosen secretary-treasurer.

A total of 21,961 votes were cast including 14,789 by mail, 6,846 online and 326 in person at the meeting.

Pedernales is the nation’s largest electric cooperative, covering 8,100 square miles.

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.