San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas

May 30th, 2012
Election 2012: The Morning After cheat sheet


  • Pct. 3 Commissioner Will Conley and Sheriff Gary Cutler annihilated their Republican opponents and, since they have no Democratic Party opponent in November, they’re set for four more years. Conley won 2,604 votes (71.91 percent) to his opponent’s 1,017 (28.09 percent). Cutler cleared 65 percent of GOP primary participants with 6,111 votes (65.07 percent) to former Sheriff Tommy Ratliff’s 3,281 (34.93 percent). See Cutler story here and Conley story here.


  • Former San Marcos Mayor Susan Narvaiz stayed above 50 percent and wins the GOP nomination for Congressional District 35 without a runoff. She won 6,034 votes (51.78 percent), including 992 in Hays County. San Marcos resident Rob Roark came in second with 3,450 (29.6 percent).
  • That means Narvaiz will face U.S. Rep. Lloyd Doggett in the November general election after Doggett absolutely crushed his two challengers with 73.2 percent of the districtwide vote. In Hays County, Doggett fared even better with 88.66% of 1,764 votes cast in his race.
  • In a second Hays County congressional district, CD-21, U.S. Rep. Lamar Smith easily trounced his two GOP foes with 28,393 votes (78.7 percent). Richard Mack won 4,864 (13.48 percent) and Richard Morgan won 2,819 (7.81 percent).
  • Two incumbent Democratic constables who faced primary opponents easily won their party’s nomination. In Pct. 1, David Peterson won 68.22% of 1,309 votes cast and, in Pct. 2, James Kohler won 70.1% of 786 votes cast. Both face Republican opponents in November.
  • Former New Braunfels Mayor Bruce Boyer narrowly missed winning the GOP nomation (with 48.68%) for 22nd District Judge and is headed to a runoff with Buda resident David Glickler (who won 23.82%). Glickler won Hays and Caldwell counties but turnout in Comal was so intense that Boyer still almost skated to victory. San Marcos resident Ronnie Dickens won 3,441 votes districtwide, or 17.03 percent.
  • State Sen. Jeff Wentworth dispatched former Railroad Commission Chair Elizabeth Ames Jones who came in last in a three-way race. Wentworth (who drew 35.8%) will face emergency room doctor Donna Campbell (who won 33.7%) in a July runoff. See story here.

» Download final, unofficial Hays County results here.

Email Email | Print Print


6 thoughts on “Election 2012: The Morning After cheat sheet

  1. I do hope there is a Runoff in the 35th district. We cannot afford more big government. I’m sorry the people of Hays Co. and the 21st congressional district couldn’t see that.

  2. I know it is hard to lose when you really care, but concluding that the loss shows everyone else just isn’t as smart as you dooms you to lose again.

  3. I think it may be a moot point. Doggett’s numbers crushed the total Narvaiz, Roark and Yoggerst pulled. Democrats appear to outnumber Republicans 2:1, and by the primary results, Democrats don’t appear to be looking for someone to replace Doggett.

  4. Love the way the total vote for Narvaiz & Roark are used; and it’s only the Hays County total for Doggett. The correct number of votes he received is 14540.

  5. I appreciate the San Marcos Mercury. I am glad to have you as a part of this community. I just wanted you to know that the work you do is valued!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *