San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas


Early voting started today for the May 12 school board election in which San Marcos CISD voters will chose two at-large members from a pool of four candidates.

For more information

Watch Allen, Mayhew and Arredondo debate here. Download the San Marcos Area League of Women Voters election guide here or read it below without a download.

Incumbents David Chiu, the current board president, and Judy Allen, a past board president, are on the ballot with challengers Paul Mayhew, a financial advisor and former city council member, and Juan Miguel Arredondo, a recent San Marcos High student leader who now attends Texas State University.

Early voting at the San Marcos Government Center, 712 S. Stagecoach Trail, will take place at these times and days:

  • 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Monday, April 30
  • 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Tuesday, May 1 to Friday, May 4
  • 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. Saturday, May 5
  • 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Monday, May 7
  • 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Tuesday, May 8

Voters will also pick school board members in the Hays and Dripping Springs school districts. In Kyle and Buda, voters will decide whether to loosen liquor laws, allowing bars and nightclubs in both cities and liquor stores in Buda.

League May 2012 Voter Guide

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *