San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas
Email Email | Print Print --


The LBJ Museum of San Marcos is seeking golfers to participate in its 10th annual golf tournament set for Quail Creek Country Club on Saturday, June 2.

Returning for his second year as tournament director is Scott Gregson, treasurer of the museum’s board of directors. Gregson has set an ambitious goal of 25 teams for the 10th annual rendition – the fourth to be held at Quail Creek Country Club. The deadline for entering the tournament is May 26. The tournament is a valuable source of museum operating funds.

The tournament was founded by the late Edwin “Ed” Cable who passed away Nov. 24, 2009. Cable served many years on the museum board and worked hard to get it opened to the public in December of 2006. The 2010 tournament was dedicated to Cable’s memory.

A four-person team fielded by City of San Marcos’ Community Services Director Rodney Cobb captured first place at the 2011 tournament. Playing on the winning team were Cobb, Richard Merritt, Oscar Hairell and Scott Yarbrough.

Second place went to the Central Texas Medical Center Foundation’s team, composed of Dr. Tom Castoldi, Foundation Board Chair Tom Pugh, Steve Parker and Dan Wegmiller. The McCoy College of Business Administration’s team, which included Rob Konopaske, Vance Lesseig, Jeremy Sierra and Ken Moon, took third.n

In individual awards, United Way of Hays County’s team member Cheryl Bailey won both the closest to the pin and longest drive awards in the women’s division. In the men’s division, the B.E. Hughes team’s Sal Salazar also won double honors, taking both closest to the pin and longest drive awards.

Special recognition at the luncheon went to silver sponsors Ted Breihan of Ted Breihan Electric, Lupe Carbajal of Carbajal and Associates, the Central Texas Medical Center Foundation, CenturyLink, Dr. B.E. Hughes of Lockhart and the Austin law firm of Linebarger, Goggan, Blair and Simpson LLP. Although they did not field a team, the daughter of Ed Cable was a silver sponsor for the 2011 tournament.

Golf teams, sponsors, raffle items and door prizes are needed. The tournament features a four-person Florida scramble format. Check-in will begin at 7:30 a.m. Golfers will tee-off with a shotgun start at 8:30 a.m. the day of the tournament.

Plaques will be awarded to the first, second and third place teams. Individual golfers receive plaques for the longest drive, as well as closest to the pin.

This year’s participants are again in for a treat. Veteran “chef” David Peterson, Hays County’s Precinct 1 constable, who coordinates San Marcos’ annual Juneteenth Barbecue Cook-Off, will be providing catfish with all the trimmings for lunch this year.

For information about the tournament and sponsorship opportunities, contact tournament chair Scott Gregson at (512) 557-8000 or museum board member Pat Murdock at (512) 353-1943 or e-mail or Murdock at

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *