San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas
Email Email | Print Print --

June 24th, 2011
San Marcos team wins LBJ golf tournament

The San Marcos Community Service team featuring (left to right) Oscar Hairell, Rodney Cobb, Scott Yarbrough and (not pictured) Richard Merritt took first place with a team score of 60. Presenting the trophies to the golfers is Scott Gregson (center right), tournament director and vice president of the LBJ Museum of San Marcos’ Board of Directors. COURTESY PHOTO


A four-person team fielded by City of San Marcos’ Community Services Director Rodney Cobb captured first place at the ninth annual Lyndon Baines Johnson Museum of San Marcos Golf Tournament Saturday, June 11 at Quail Creek Country Club.

Playing on the winning team were Cobb, Richard Merritt, Oscar Hairell and Scott Yarbrough. Second place went to the Central Texas Medical Center Foundation’s team, composed of Dr. Tom Castoldi, Foundation Board Chair Tom Pugh, Steve Parker and Dan Wegmiller. The McCoy College of Business Administration’s team, which included Rob Konopaske, Vance Lesseig, Jeremy Sierra and Ken Moon, took third.

In individual awards, United Way of Hays County’s team member Cheryl Bailey won both the closest to the pin and longest drive awards in the women’s division. In the men’s division, the B.E. Hughes team’s Sal Salazar also won double honors, taking both closest to the pin and longest drive awards.

Fourteen teams participated in the annual museum fundraiser which was initiated nine years ago by of long-time museum board member Ed Cable who passed away in November of 2009. Fielding teams for the first time this year were the Central Texas Medical Center Foundation, United Way of Hays County and City Councilman Chris Jones.

Texas State University journalism graduate Lawrence Olsen, who serves as executive director of the Texas Good Roads/Transportation Association, sponsored a team for the first time, too, but his golfers were kept in Austin because of the special legislative session and could not play. He did join the group for lunch. Although not a golfer, San Marcos Mayor Daniel Guerrero also joined the group for lunch to show his support.

Special recognition at the luncheon went to silver sponsors Ted Breihan of Ted Breihan Electric, Lupe Carbajal of Carbajal and Associates, the Central Texas Medical Center Foundation, CenturyLink, Dr. B.E. Hughes of Lockhart and the Austin law firm of Linebarger, Goggan, Blair and Simpson LLP.

Although they did not field a team, the daughter of Ed Cable was a silver sponsor for the 2011 tournament.

Rounding out the list of teams competing were Butler Manufacturing Company, Elliott Electric Supply Company, Frost Bank and Scott Gregson. Gregson, vice president of the board of directors of the LBJ Museum of San Marcos, also served as tournament director.

LBJ Museum Board President Pat Murdock recognized Quail Creek Country Club’s new golf pro, Gabe Reynolds, and introduced San Marcos’ Precinct 1 Constable David Peterson who provided the brisket for lunch.

The tentative date for the 2012 tournament has been set for June 2.

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *