San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas

November 17th, 2010
San Marcos swears in new councilmembers


New San Marcos Mayor Daniel Guerrero takes the oath of office Monday night from Tom Sechrest, Associate Dean of the School of Management and Business at St. Edwards University. Looking on is Guerrero’s family, including his grandfather, Jose Silguero, mother, Socorro Guerrero and father, Robert Guerrero. Photo by Don Anders.


New San Marcos Mayor Daniel Guerrero and three new City Councilmembers took their oaths of office Monday, following the canvass of the Nov. 2 general and special election returns.

Councilmembers Kim Porterfield was sworn in for her second term and Councilmember Jude Prather was sworn in for his first term. Councilmember Shane Scott was sworn in for the final two years of the term vacated because John Thomaides stepped down to run for mayor.

The city council then selected Councilmember Ryan Thomason as Mayor Pro Tempore and Councilmember Chris Jones as Deputy Mayor Pro Tem.

The ceremony was followed by a reception honoring outgoing Mayor Susan Narvaiz and Councilmembers Thomaides and Gaylord Bose.

Email Email | Print Print


One thought on “San Marcos swears in new councilmembers

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *