San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas
Email Email | Print Print --

August 26th, 2010
House Higher Education committee meets at Texas State

Denise Trauth welcomes Texas Rep. Dan Branch, chair of the House of Representatives Higher Education Committee, to the campus of Texas State University-San Marcos. Branch and his committee were on campus to conduct a public hearing on reducing the cost of instructional materials at higher education institutions. PHOTO by CHANDLER PRUDE


The Texas House of Representatives Committee on Higher Education held a public hearing on the campus of Texas State University Wednesday, Aug. 25 on the subject of reducing the cost of instructional materials in higher education institutions.

In addition to public testimony, the committee heard from C. Van Wyatt, vice president for information technology at Texas State, and William Angrove, associate vice president for distance learning at Sam Houston State University, on the topics of web-based resources and distance education.

Pamela Bacon, vice president for administration at the University of Texas at San Antonio, and Alan Stratman, vice president for marketing for the Follett Higher Education Group, addressed the committee on the topic of textbook programs.

The committee also received a special presentation from Sabiendo: The Academy for Rising Leaders. Students making the presentation were Shelby Arely Figueroa from Akins High School in Austin, Atlantida Esmeralda Banda Gamez from Fox Tech High School in San Antonio, Zaira Ruth Garcia from LBJ High School in Austin, Adolfo A. Gonzalez from San Marcos High School, Ruben Martinez from Stony Point High School, Lauren Rangle from Business Careers High School in San Antonio and Mara Alyssa Rderiguez from Austin High School in Austin.

Texas State President Denise Trauth and Brian McCall, chancellor of the Texas State University System, welcomed the committee members to Texas State and San Marcos.

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *