San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas

June 23rd, 2010
Three Bobcats named to Southland academic team


Texas State’s Jenna Emery, McKenzie Baack and Leah Boatright all were named the Southland Conference all-academic softball team. Texas State sports information director.


Three Texas State softball players were all named to the Southland Conference all-academic team, released this week by the league office.

Leah Boatright, a three-time honoree and a native of Baytown, was named to the first team. She picked up CoSIDA All-Academic District VI honors after being named to the all-conference and all-region teams. The senior outfielder graduated in May with grade point average (GPA) of 3.40 and a degree in marketing.

Jenna Emery, a two-time academic selection, was placed on the second team. The junior third baseman from Sugar Land is an all-conference and Southland Conference all-tournament team member. Emery is majoring in respiratory care with a 3.15 GPA.

McKenzie Baack, a native of Round Rock, is a repeat selection named to the second team. The junior designated player for the Bobcats is pursuing a degree in marketing with a 3.14 GPA. She was also named to the 2010 Southland Conference all-tournament team.

The all-academic teams are voted on by the head coaches, sports information directors and academic/compliance administrators from each Southland Conference university. To make the team, a student-athletes must possess at least a 3.0 cumulative GPA, having completed one full academic year at the nominating institution and participating in at least 50 percent of the team’s competition.

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.