San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas

May 24th, 2010
City honors San Marcos CISD Teachers of the Year

052310teachersFront row, left to right: San Marcos Mayor Susan Narvaiz, Frances Rivas, Roxana Heiser and Brenda Butler. Row two, left to right: Mayor Pro Tem Kim Porterfield, Carl Contreras, Jennifer Cortez, Rebecca Marini, Lino Carrillo and Jesse Villalobos. Back row, left to right: Deputy Mayor Pro Tem Fred Terry, San Marcos CISD Assistant Superintendent Mike Abild, and Mike Montgomery.


The San Marcos City Council recently honored the San Marcos CISD “Teachers of the Year.” Each school selected one teacher for the honor. San Marcos CISD Assistant Superintendent Mike Abild also was on hand for the occasion.

The honorees include Frances Rivas from De Zavala Elementary School, Roxana Heiser from Goodnight Middle School, Brenda Butler from Mendez Elementary School and Tracy Estrada of Miller Middle School. Other “Teachers of the Year” are Hernandez Elementary School’s Carl Contreras, Crockett Elementary School’s  Jennifer Cortez, Travis Elementary School’s Rebecca Marini and Bowie Elementary School’s Jesse Villalobos.

The “Teacher of the Year” for San Marcos High School was Lino Carillo and the Phoenix Academy’s honoree was Mike Montgomery.

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *