San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas

May 14th, 2010
SMBA honors athletes with award banquet

051210battlinSome of the award recipients from San Marcos Baptist Academy.  Front, left to right: Melanie Isaacs, Taylor Teis, Nayara Vasconcelos, Chloe Rocha, Kristi Allison. Middle, left to right: Michael Young, Yaza Gaylor, John Myers, Darby Rollins. Top rown, left to right: Memo Borrego, Mark Hamm , Michael Latham and John Nealon.


San Marcos Baptist Academy (SMBA) recognized athletes from every middle school and high school sport  for their accomplishments during the school year at an awards banquet earlier this month.

Michael Young, a senior, received the Four-Sport Letterman Award. He lettered in football, basketball, baseball and track.

Three-Sport Lettermen included Sam Boothby, Jay Claiborne, Collin Cook, Tiara Hansen, Mark Hamm, Malanie Isaacs, Michael Latham, Josh McIntyre, John Nealon, Anthony Richardson, Vishal Singh, Taylor Teis, Beth Thielen, Cameron Whitehead and Brady Wickersham.

Athletes receiving letters for two sports were Kristi Allison, Trey Banks, Memo Borrego, Maggie Boylan, Kayla Chandler, Rebecca Cox, Ramiro Cruz, Cody Dietert, Humberto Garcia, Patrick Gibson, Estevan Gutierrez, Mallaree Kent, Ty Merriweather, Zack Middleton, Alexis Moreno, Jackie Oglesby, Oby Okoye, Aubrey Oswalt, Herriott Parker, Jammy Patton, Lindsey Preston, Kelly Reese, Chloe Rocha, Chris Roberts, Adam Rollins, Darby Rollins, Kim Saindon, Clayton Tresca, Rusti Wade, Kevin Walker, Magdalena Wendling, Malcolm Williams and Ruby Yang.

Most Valuable Player (MVP) awards were presented for major team sports.  The football MVP went to quarterback Anthony Richardson. The award, named the Steve Fordham Award, was established in 1968 by the parents of 1962 SMBA alumus Steve Fordham, who was killed in action in Viet Nam.

The other athletes receiving most valuable player recognition include Chloe Rocha for volleyball, Mark Hamm for boys basketball, Nayara Vasconcelos for girls basketball, Darby Rollins for soccer and baseball and Taylor Teis for softball.

The SMBA award known as the “Battlin’ Bear” was given by several coaches to honor those athletes who demonstrated a positive attitude, outstanding dedication and an exemplary work ethic. The Battlin’ Bear awards went to  Yaza Gaylor and Michael Young in football, Taylor Teis and Kristi Allison in volleyball, Brady Wickersham for boys basketball. Additional Battlin’ Bears include Taylor Teis and Melanie Isaacs in girls basketball, Memo Borrego in soccer, Michael Young and John Myers in baseball, Melanie Isaacs and Chloe Rocha in softball,  Kevin Walker in golf and Michael Latham in track.

Middle school athletes also were presented certificates of participation at the awards banquet. the middle school three sport athletes were Michael Boyer, Emma Hartsock, Jamie Lambert, Kendall Nighbert, Hannah Paul, Megan Pizana, Carl Rindahl, Shelby Teis and Madi Wagar.

The two-sport athletes in middle school were Nick Boehm, Matthew Brannagan, Will Brown, Ethan Deschner, Andrew Hansen, Ava Garcia, Desmond Jackson, Donovan Jackson, Eileen Salas, Sarah Lindsey, Paul Suk and Braxton Wise.

The final award of the banquet went to SMBA parent Martin Chandler who was named “SMBA Superfan” for his constant and consistent support all the SMBA Bears.

Email Email | Print Print


One thought on “SMBA honors athletes with award banquet

  1. I went to SMBMA 1973-1975 San Marcos Baptist Military Academy Is it no longer a Military Academy? Hats off to recipients

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.