San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas
Email Email | Print Print --

May 8th, 2010
Hervol wins Kyle council race; Kanetzky in at Hays CISD


Former trustee Joe Munoz fell short in his bid to return to the Hays CISD school board, drawing 164 votes to Marty Kanetzky’s 358 votes.

Munoz served for more than a decade as a school board member representing District 2 until he resigned in September when he moved residences. He tried to regain a seat in District 5, which includes much of the western part of Hays CISD including Driftwood, Mountain City, Plum Creek and Buda’s western neighborhoods around Garlic Creek.

Meanwhile, Diane Hervol won 337 votes to Jason Welch’s 186 votes for Kyle City Council, settling for now the composition of a governing body that has changed dramatically in recent months. That seat was held by Michelle Lopez who lost a special election for mayor in February to Lucy Johnson, who in turn had to vacate her seat to run for mayor.

Brad Pickett, a financial manager running unopposed for the District 3 seat, won 396 votes. He will fill the seat currently held by David Salazar, who did not seek re-election.

All told, the seven-member Kyle council will have four new members and new mayor when the most recent crop are sworn in. Only David Wilson and Becky Selbera have served in their current capacity for more than three months.

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *