San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas

May 4th, 2010
San Marcos Area League of Women Voters honored by city


Front, left to right:  San Marcos Mayor Susan Narvaiz, Pat Murdock, Mary Borm, Margaret Lindsey and Irene Hadley. Back, left to right: San Marcos City Councilmember Kim Porterfield, Jeannie Lewis, San Marcos City Councilmembers Fred Terry and Ryan Thomason, Peggy Townes, Grace Melcher Neal and Betsy Robertson. Photo by Don Anders.


San Marcos Mayor Susan Narvaiz presented a proclamation to the San Marcos Area League of Women Voters in honor of the league’s leadership and service and in celebration of the League’s 90th anniversary. Recently the league hosted the statewide League of Women Voters convention at the City of San Marcos Conference Center April 23-25.

The League of Women Voters was started by Carrie Chapman Catt in 1920, just six month before the 19th amendment, giving women the right to vote, was ratified.

“More than 850 state and local leagues across the country will celebrate this milestone birthday throughout 2010,” said Mary G. Wilson, national president of the League of Women Voters. “But most importantly, we’ll be doing what we always do: discussing the important issues, challenging the status quo and demanding accountability.”

Email Email | Print Print


One thought on “San Marcos Area League of Women Voters honored by city

  1. Pingback: home office?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.