San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas

March 23rd, 2010
Masonic Lodge No. 342 awards scholarships

032210masonLeft to right: Masonic Lodge Master Scott Johnson, San Marcos CISD Trustees President Judy Allen, San Marcos CISD Superintendent Patty Shafer, senior scholarship winners Katelyn Sundquist and Jeremy Cobb, and San Marcos CISD Trustees Secretary Kathy Hansen.


In celebration of Pubic Schools Week, San Marcos Masonic Lodge No. 342 awarded two San Marcos High School seniors, Katelyn Sundquist and Jeremy Cobb,  with scholarships and Lamar Medals. Present at the ceremony, in addition to the scholarship winners, were San Marcos CISD Trustees President Judy Allen and Superintendent Patty Shafer.

The medals, named for historic Texas Mason Mirabeau Buonaparte Lamar are given to students and educators in recognition of outstanding personal achievments in academics, citizenship, community service or sports.

Lamar, as first vice president and second president of the Republic of Texas, is also notable as the founder of Texas public schools, and has often been called the “Father of Education in Texas.” Public Schools week was established by the Masons in 1950.

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.