San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas
Email Email | Print Print --

March 18th, 2010
CTMC receives Trauma IV certification


The Texas Department of State Health Services designated Central Texas Medical Center (CTMC) as a Basic Level IV Trauma Facility at the start of the year.

“By earning our Level IV Trauma Certification, we’re demonstrating our ongoing commitment to provide the best possible medical care for our community when they need it most,” said Michael Plankers, CTMC Critical Care Director. “Having a system in place to provide rapid stabilization of injury and definitive care not only saves lives, but can also decrease the length of recovery for our patients.”

A Level IV Trauma Designated Facility provides resuscitation, stabilization and assessment of injury victims and either provides treatment or arranges for appropriate transfer to a higher level designated trauma facility. It provides ongoing educational opportunities in trauma-related topics for healthcare professionals and the public, and implements targeted injury prevention programs.

CTMC is the only designated trauma facility in the county.

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.