San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas
Email Email | Print Print --

March 18th, 2010
CTMC certified as Level IV trauma facility


The Texas Department of State Health Services has designated Central Texas Medical Center (CTMC) as a Basic Level IV Trauma Facility.  The designation was received after the facility met all standards relating to trauma and by advocating, as an active member of the Capitol Area Regional Advisory Council, for trauma system development.

“By earning our Level IV Trauma Certification, we’re demonstrating our ongoing commitment to provide the best possible medical care for our community when they need it most,” said Michael Plankers, CTMC Critical Care Director. “Having a system in place to provide rapid stabilization of injury and definitive care not only saves lives, but can also decrease the length of recovery for our patients.”

A Level IV designated facility provides resuscitation, stabilization and assessment for injury victims. The site then either treats the patient or arranges for the appropriate transfer to a higher level designated facility. The designation also means that the facility provides ongoing educational opportunities on trauma related topics to both health care professionals and the public, and uses injury prevention programs.

CTMC has educated the community on trauma through free car seat fittings, seminars on elderly fall prevention and partnerships with area high schools focusing on anti-drinking campaigns and reenactments.

More information on CTMC’s Level IV certification can be obtained by contacting Trauma Coordinator Susan Youngblood at (512) 753-3735.

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.