San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas

March 17th, 2010
Texas State’s O’Brien wins Katherine Anne Porter Award

031610obrienAuthor Tim O’Brien.


Tim O’Brien, acclaimed prize-winning novelist and holder of the Endowed Chair in Creative Writing at Texas State, has received the 2010 Katherine Anne Porter Award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters.

The $20,000 prize is given to honor a prose writer whose achievements and dedication to the literary profession have been demonstrated.

O’Brien is no stranger to literary prizes, having won the National Book Award in 1979, the James Fenimore Cooper Award in 1995, France’s Prix du Milleur Livre Etranger. O’Brien also has been a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize and the National Book Critics Circle Award.

O’Brien is the author of nine books, including the highly praised The Things They Carried, In The Lake of the Woods and Going After Cacciato. His latest work is 2002’s July July.  His work often focuses on his experiences in Vietnam and his upbringing in Austin, MN.

Based in New York City, the American Academy of Arts and Letters was established in 1898 as an offshoot of the American Social Science Association. Its purpose is to foster and sustain an interest in literature, music and the fine arts by identifying and encouraging individual artists through awards, prizes and exhibits. Candidates for awards must be nominated by members of the Academy. Members of the organization, through the years, have included William Dean Howells, Henry James, Woodrow Wilson, Theodore Roosevelt, Mark Twain and Augustus Saint-Gaudens.

A full list of award winners can be seen by visiting

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.