San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas

March 1st, 2010
Texas State teams finish sixth, eighth at league track meet


Elena Horn provided the Texas State highlights at the Southland Conference Indoor Track and Field Championships in Norman, OK, last weekend, winning the women’s pole vaulting crown with a height of 3.85 meters (12-07.50).

Stephen F. Austin captured the women’s title 151 points, followed by Texas-Arlington (UTA) with 122, Texas-San Antonio (UTSA) with 105, Sam Houston State with 59 and Northwestern State with 46.5. Texas State finished sixth.

Jannah Evans also placed in the vault for Texas State with a height of 3.40 meters (11-01.75). The 4 x 440-yard relay team of Lindsey Maxwell, Ryann Bradford, Kannesha Skinner and Katie Miller placed eighth with a time of 4:00.56.

On the men’s side, UTSA won with a point total of 120, followed by Stephen F. Austin (99.5), Sam Houston State (90), UT Arlington (82) and Southeastern Louisiana (77). Texas State finished eighth.

For the Texas State men, junior sprinter Aaron Jones captured third place in the 60 meters with a time of 6.75, improving from his preliminary time of 0.08. Jack Petersen placed eighth in the 800 meters, clocking a time of 1:55.82.

Goldstein Okafor recorded a mark of 14.67 meters (48-01.75) to take seventh place in the triple jump. Ben Marvin finished ninth in the heptathlon with a point total of 4,766.

Justin Longoria, Gil Shelig, Timothy Young and Gerry Kammer recorded a time of 3:23.26 in the 4 x 440-yard relay to place eighth.

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.