San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas

February 13th, 2010
Lucy Johnson elected Kyle mayor


After the hoard of election supporters clutching candidate posters cleared away and the final votes were tallied, Lucy Johnson was elected as Kyle’s next mayor while Jaime Sanchez and Russell Huebner were voted onto the city council in Saturday’s special election.

Kyle Mayor-elect Lucy Johnson waves to passing traffic in the waning moments of the city's special election Saturday night. PHOTO by SEAN KIMMONS

The city council shuffle started when Mayor Mike Gonzalez and Councilmember Ray Bryant resigned to vie for run for Hays County Pct. 2 Commissioner. Councilmembers Johnson and López then resigned their seats in hopes of becoming the city’s next mayor.

At just 26 years old, Johnson is believed to be the youngest mayor ever elected in Kyle history.

“I’m just so thankful and amazed at the outpouring of support that I’ve received in the last few weeks,” Johnson said at her victory party.

She added that she’ll standby the tenants of her campaign by focusing on a proactive city council and tackling the city’s debt problems.

“I think we need a more involved city council,” she said. “We need councilmembers who are real active participants in the city’s government because we’re governing for the people.

“And also, obviously, controlling city spending by coming up with a sensible and professional Kyle budget and tackling the debt problem now,” she said.

Huebner joins Johnson on the council and echoed concerns about the mounting city debt issue as well.

“The first thing to do is to get the city’s spending stabilized, instead of increasing our debt,” he said.

He also wants to start a plan to get the Kyle Police Department properly funded without creating more debt and raising property taxes, he said.

Sanchez could not be reached for comment.

Kyle’s Special Election voting:


Lucy Johnson 529

Michelle López 476

Council Place 5

Jaime Sanchez 473

Mike Fulton 403

Jon Claeton 43

John Simmang 22

Council Place 6

Russell Huebner 170

Rhonda Cox 156

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.