San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas

February 1st, 2010
Three San Marcos schools recognized for performance


The Division of NCLB (No Child Left Behind) Program Coordination at the Texas Education Agency (TEA) recently selected three San Marcos CISD elementary campuses for distinguished academic performance. Bowie, Crockett and De Zavala Elementary Schools each received the honor. All three of the schools are Title I, Part A campuses.

Bowie Principal Karen McGowen, Crockett Principal Rick LaBuhn and De Zevala Principal Delores Cruz will be contacted this spring by the TEA’s Region 13 Educational Service Center to participate in the recognition of their schools’ accomplishments.

“To achieve and maintain such high standards is an accomplishment that serves as a model for other schools in the state to emulate,” said Anita Givens, the TEA’s Associate Commissioner of Standards and Programs.

The U.S. Department of Education website reports that more than 50,000 public schools across the nation use Title I funds to provide additional academic support and learning opportunities to help low-achieving children master challenging curricula and meet state standards in core academic subjects. Funds can support extra instruction in reading and mathematics, as well as special preschool, after-school, and summer programs to extend and reinforce the regular school curriculum.

More information on Title I is available at

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.