San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas
Email Email | Print Print --

January 22nd, 2010
Three students awarded prestigious Woodrow Wilson-Rockefeller Fellowships


The Woodrow Wilson-Rockefeller Brothers Fund has named three Texas State University students recipients of the 2010 Fellowships for minority students entering the teaching profession.

Veronica Arellano, an interdisciplinary studies major from San Antonio, Ambra Green, an interdisciplinary studies major from Victoria and Estella Reyna, an education major from Connell, Wash., are the Texas State students earning the fellowships. Since 1997, a total of 17 Texas State students (including this year’s) have received Woodrow Wilson-Rockefeller Fellowships: Lydia Rousey, Prisciliana Delgado, Audrey M. Estupinan, Gabriel Garza, Raul Gonzalez, Nora Perez, Coretta Doss, Maria Tinajero, Lisa Jefferson, Stefanie Sierra, Patrice Resse, Danielle Alvarado, Roxanne Lopez, Stephanie Lopez, Tyrone Sutton, Albert Walker and Ashley Weaver. Fellowships were not awarded from 1998-2000 or in 2009.

The three were among 25 students representing 16 universities to earn the honor. Texas State was one of only two schools to have three students selected. Students designated as Rockefeller Fellows are eligible for scholarship grants totaling up to $22,100 beginning in their junior year and ending after that Fellow has established a career as a public school classroom teacher.

Initially, Rockefeller Fellows receive grants of $2,500 during the summer of their junior years to undertake projects related to teaching. Following graduation, they can receive awards of $12,000 to $16,000 for full-time graduate work in teacher education or related fields. Upon completion of graduate work, Fellows are eligible for loan repayments of $1,200 annually for each of the first three continuous years the Fellow serves as a public school classroom teacher.

To be eligible for the Rockefeller awards, students must be enrolled in one of the 28 colleges and universities chosen to participate in the program. Those institutions have shown a record of commitment to the education of minorities and have the stated goal of improving teaching in public schools. Participating universities may nominate up to three students.

Rockefeller Fellows are selected based on academic performance, written and oral communication skills and commitment to public service.


Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.