San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas
Email Email | Print Print --

January 20th, 2010
Thunderhill recognizes top drivers

012010tsrsAwards winners receive their hardware at last Saturday night’s awards ceremony for Thunderhill Raceway and the Texas Super Racing Series.


More than 300 drivers, racing team members, race officials, media and fans attended the Thunderhill Raceway and Texas Super Racing Series (Texas Super Racing Series) 2009 Awards Banquet Saturday night at the Manchaca Firehall and Community Center in Manchaca.

The big winners were Layton Carroll (Thunderhill Grand Stocks Champion and Rookie of the Year awards), Jake Kruger (Texas Super Racing Series Late Models Champion and Mentor Team award) and Kendall Bumbera (Texas Super Racing Series Late Models Rookie of the Year and Best Appearing Crew Award). The award winners follow:

Thunderhill Mini Stocks: Champion — Mason Yousling.

Thunderhill Grand Stocks: Champion — Layton Carroll. Rookie of the Year — Layton Carroll. To the Rear Award — Richard Fitch.

Thunderhill Thunder Stocks: Champion — Mason Teague. Rookie of the Year — Patrick Burow.

Thunderhill ASA A-Line Super Stocks: Champion — Clint LaFont. Rookie of the Year — Chase Stapp.

Thunderhill SportMods: Champion — Don Painter.

Thunderhill Pro Modifieds: Champion — Michael Umscheid.

Thunderhilll Pro Trucks: Champion — Jason Marshall.

Thunderhill Raceway Extra Lap Award — David Lewien.

Thunderhill Hard Luck Award — Dwayne Toyne.

Thunderhill Raceway Best Appearing Crew Award — Allen Alexander and his AAA House Leveling team

Thunderhill Raceway “Kevin Suberg” Sportsman of the Year Award — Terry Tschoerner, Mini Stocks.

Texas Super Racing Series Allison Legacies — Champion — Rusty Mirth. Rookie of the Year — Cole Runco.

Texas Super Racing Series Late Models: Champion — Jake Kruger. Super Pack Champion — Robert Barker. Rookie of the Year — Kendall Bumbera.

Texas Super Racing Series Mentor Team Award — Jake Wright and Jake Kruger.

Texas Super Racing Series Hard Luck Award — Levi Krauss.

Texas Super Racing Series Best Appearing Crew Award — Kendall Bumbera and her Next Generation Racing team

Texas Super Racing Series Sportsman of the Year Award — Bobby Teer.

Official of the Year — David Mackey.

The awards ceremony included certificates of appreciation for staff, officials, safety crews and sponsors. Scoring director Kathy Tiemann presented a trophy to media and public relations director Debbie Williams for her help with the training on the electronic scoring system. Thunderhill/Texas Super Racing Series owner and promoter Mary Ann Naumann announced a few staff changes for the 2010 racing season as follows: Terry Barden as the Race Director for Texas Super Racing Series and traveling classes, Gary Smith as the THR Marketing Manger and Cameron Moore, Sr., as the Track Chaplain.

Neil Upchurch from Texas Pro Sedans announced his retirement and presented awards to two Texas Pro Sedan drivers – the 2009 championship award to Mike Merrell and the Rookie of the Year award to Tory Christopher. Upchurch ended his presentation with a speech about the state of stock-car racing and introduced David Mackey as the new race director for the Texas Pro Sedans.

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.