San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas

December 18th, 2009
Rattlers place 15 on all-district grid teams


The San Marcos High School football team, which finished the 2009 season with a 3-6 record, still placed 15 players on All-District 27-4A teams due to the individual skills of the players and the overall competitiveness of the ball club.

The Rattlers put four players on the first team, five to the second team and six to honorable mention.

The first team players included Blake Bagley, a tough blocking tight end who has decided his next move by signing as a pitcher for Texas State. Running back Scooter Walker, offensive lineman Pablo Nieto and linebacker Jeremy Gonzalez also made the first team for the Rattlers.

The second team choices were running back Michael Wilburn, wide receiver Payton Pringle, offensive lineman Troy Williams, defensive back Tomas Velasquez and Bagley, as a linebacker.

The honorable mentions were quarterback Ryan Schweers, running back Kristian Cogdill, running back Andre Ray, defensive end Luis Salazar, senior defensive back Bob Eric Rodriguez and senior linebacker Anthony Ramirez. Ray led the team with 817 rushing yards.

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *