San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas

December 9th, 2009
Ingrams to be awarded honorary doctorates


On Dec. 18 at Strahan Coliseum, Bruce and Gloria Ingram will be awarded  honorary doctoral degrees during the Texas State commencement ceremonies.

The Ingrams, founders of Ingram Readymix, a concrete company, will receive the Doctor of Laws, honoris causa, degree. They join the ranks of Texas States’ previously awarded local luminaries Lyndon and Lady Bird Johnson and George Strait.

The Ingrams are one of Texas State’s most generous benefactors. When the Ingrams saw the need for endowed support of the university’s burgeoning engineering program, the couple provided a $5 million gift that became an essential part of establishing the Ingram School of Engineering. They subsequently donated another $2 million to the university in support of engineering scholarships.

Bruce Ingram has also provided guidance in a subject he knows well, in the university’s efforts to establish an undergraduate program in concrete industry management.

Said Texas State President Denise Trauth,“Bruce and Gloria Ingram are true pillars of the community. Their gifts to Texas State have been transformational. Their generosity has allowed us to provide better opportunities for our students and fill crucial economic and workforce development gaps for Texas. The Ingrams care deeply about their community and this university, and it is our pleasure to be able to honor them in this manner.”

The Ingrams are residents of New Braunfels, but they both were born and raised in San Antonio. Bruce Ingram  attended Texas A&M, served in the U.S. Navy Seabees and founded Ingram Readymix. The company has 26 plants in 22 Texas cities.

Gloria Ingram was valedictorian of her class at John Marshall High School in San Antonio. Texas State has been a part of the educational tradition in her family as she, her sisters and her mother all attended the university. She provided strong and steady support through the growth of the Ingram Readymix business. She is also an active community volunteer.

The Ingrams serve on Texas State’s President’s Council and are the co-chairs of the Texas State Pride in Action Campaign Academic Excellence Pillar.

The Ingrams will be Texas State’s  ninth and tenth honorary doctorate honorees. In addition to the aforementioned  Johnsons and Strait, previous recipients include former National Geographic Society President Gilbert Grosvenor, philanthropists Roy F. and Joann Cole Mitte and philanthropists Emmett and Miriam McCoy.

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *