San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas

December 7th, 2009
Ingrams to receive honorary doctorates


Bruce and Gloria Ingram of New Braunfels will be awarded honorary doctoral degrees during a commencement ceremony to be held at 2 p.m. Friday, Dec. 18, at Texas State University.

Bruce and Gloria Ingram

The ceremony, during which the Ingrams will receive the Doctor of Laws, honoris causa, will be held in Strahan Coliseum on the Texas State campus.

The Ingrams are among Texas State’s most generous benefactors. In 2006, recognizing the need for endowed support of the university’s growing engineering programs, the couple provided a $5 million gift that became a critical part of establishing the Ingram School of Engineering at Texas State. Subsequently, the couple donated an additional $2 million to the university to further support engineering scholarships. Mr. Ingram has also provided guidance in the university’s efforts to establish an undergraduate program in concrete industry management.

“Bruce and Gloria Ingram are true pillars of the community,” said Texas State President Denise Trauth. “Their gifts to Texas State have been transformational. Their generosity has allowed us to provide better opportunities for our students and fill crucial economic and workforce development gaps for Texas. The Ingrams care deeply about their community and this university, and it is our pleasure to be able to honor them in this manner.”

Mr. Ingram was born in San Antonio and grew up there. He attended Texas A&M University and served in the U.S. Navy Seabees. He is the founder of Ingram Readymix, a manufacturer of concrete that now has 26 plants in 22 Texas cities, and has served on the boards of many professional and community organizations.

Mrs. Ingram was also born in San Antonio and grew up there. She was the valedictorian of her class at John Marshall High School in San Antonio. She, her mother and her sisters all attended Texas State. She has provided strong and steady support in the building of the Ingram Readymix business and is an active community volunteer.

The Ingrams serve on Texas State’s President’s Council and are the co-chairs of the Texas State Pride in Action Campaign Academic Excellence Pillar.

The Ingrams will be the ninth and tenth recipients of honorary doctoral degrees from Texas State. Previous recipients have been Lyndon Baines Johnson, Lady Bird Johnson, former National Geographic Society President Gilbert Grosvenor, philanthropists Roy F. and Joann Cole Mitte, country music superstar George Strait and philanthropists Emmett and Miriam McCoy.


Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *