San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas

December 1st, 2009
Early voting runs until Dec. 11


Early voting began Monday in the run-off election for a San Marcos City Council seat. The early voting period will run through Dec. 11.

San Marcos Planning and Zoning (P&Z) Commissioner Ryan Thomason is running against academic advisor Lisa Marie Coppoletta in the special ballot to determine who will take the place on council occupied by Councilmember Pam Couch, who declined to seek re-election in November.

Thomason received the most votes of any candidates for the seat in the Nov. 3 election, taking 960 of 1,924 votes (49.9 percent). Because Thomason didn’t receive more than 50 percent of the vote, he faces a run-off against Coppoletta, who received 504 votes, the second most. Small business owner Shaune Maycock also ran in the election, receiving 460 votes.

The city council last month designated Dec. 15 as Election Day in that race.

The only location for early voting is the Hays County Election Administrator’s Office, located at 401-C Broadway. The office will take early votes every day during normal business hours through Dec. 11, except for Dec. 7 and Dec. 8, when the polls will open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *