San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas

November 30th, 2009
Women's Center awards slated for Monday


The Hays-Caldwell Women’s Center (HCWC) will have its annual meeting Monday at 7 p.m. at the Price Senior Center, 222 West San Antonio Street.  The meeting will feature a panel of four donors discussing their motivation to invest in community services for victims of abuse, the election of a board of directors and the recognition of outstanding volunteers.

Whit Hanks of Dripping Springs, Cindy McCoy of Austin, Patrick Price of San Marcos, and Liz Tuttle of Wimberley are the featured lead donors and will discuss their volunteer leadership.

Slated for new and renewed membership to the board are Milena Christopher and Joann Odenwelder of Dripping Springs, Alice Lochman, Marsha Moore, Donald Lee, Carolyn Liner,  Julie Veidt,  and Niem Huynh of San Marcos, Cecelia Adair of Manchaca, Abigail Connor Klamert of Buda, and Karen Cochran of Luling.

Volunteers for HCWC ensure that victims of abuse in Hays and Caldwell Counties have access to 24-hour services. HCWC also increases public awareness on family violence, sexual assault and child abuse issues. Six volunteers will be recognized for their contributions to the agency’s mission.

The most prestigious of the honors is the Chris Banbury Volunteer of the Year Award, presented to the volunteer who shows exceptional dedication of time and talent.

This year’s honorees are Mark and Anna Boling. They are recognized for their contributions beyond Anna Boling’s five-year tenure on the board. Since leaving the HCWC Board in 2008, the Bolings designed and decorated the ballroom for the annual auction, as well as designed and helped install the new McCoy Family Shelter landscaping.

The 2009 Changemaker Award recipients are Shaula King and Renee Perez. This award honors volunteers who make a significant impact on direct services provided by HCWC programs.

King began at HCWC by volunteering on the Health Emergency Advocate Response (HEART) Team and in the shelter while attending Texas State in 2003. She takes one HEARTeam shift per month and assists with the parenting program. She also helped with the success of the 2009 annual auction.

Perez started as an HCWC paid staff member as a sexual assault counselor and prevention educator. She became an active HCWC volunteer as she led sexual assault counseling groups at Texas State. She also counsels HCWC clients in the sexual assault program, the Shelter Program and the children’s advocacy center, Roxanne’s House. Perez continues to counsel for weekly support groups for shelter  clients as well as supporting the shelter staff.

The HEARTeam Award goes to the hospital hospital accompaniment advocate who shows a strong commitment to meeting victims of abuse and plays a key role in representing HCWC as the first point of contact at the hospital. This year’s recipient, Tracey Reynolds, is recognized for her leadership and commitment to the critical hospital response advocacy program.

The HELPline Award goes to the advocate who devotes free time to answer the agency’s 24-hour phone line. Texas State student Laura Brown logged more than 400 hours providing crisis assistance to callers throughout the year during the hours of 6 p.m. to 7 a.m.

The Hays-Caldwell Women’s Center has served local victims of abuse including family violence and sexual assault for over 30 years. All HCWC services are free and confidential.

For more information on the annual meeting or HCWC, visit or call (512) 396-HELP.

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.