San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas

November 20th, 2009
Texas State's AITP members garner awards


Members of the Texas State Chapter of the Association of Information Technology Professionals (AITP) recently participated in the AITP regional student competition held at the University of Texas-Dallas campus. They returned home with six awards and two finalists.

AITP is a national organization open to students and career professionals interested in information technology.

Randy Cook and Kevin Jetton, the Texas State AITP faculty advisors, accompanied 19 students to Dallas where they competed in 26 events.

In the Application Development category, the first place winners were Doug Fogle, a senior Computer Information Systems (CSI)/ Management double major from Lockhart, Gene Ognibene, a senior CIS major from South Padre Island, Lisa Okafor, a senior from Sugar Land, and Autumn Pitts, senior CIS major from Aurora, IL.

The first place winners in Database Design were Lisa Okafor and Eric Ortega. Third place winners in the category were Scott Hidalgo and Andrew Johnson. Tuan Nguyen and Joe Zarate received Honorable Mention.

Honorable mention in the Network Design category was received by Michael Gairo and James Thorne. In the PC Troubleshooting category, Honorable mention was again garnered by Thorne as well as Andrew Johnson.

Email Email | Print Print


0 thoughts on “Texas State's AITP members garner awards

  1. Pingback: Watch Movie Links » Blog Archive » Cook County Jail Hays County Jail

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *