San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas
Email Email | Print Print --

July 9th, 2009
Thunderhill hopes for national title repeat


KYLE – After Thunderhill Raceway regular Cary Stapp won last year’s American Speed Association (ASA) national championship, the Kyle track hopes to repeat with the championship this year.

Thunderhill regular Clint LaFont of Volente, TX, is running a close second in the national standings this year with a point average of 2.1141, trailing only Jeremy Miller of Madison (WI) International Speedway, whose point average is 2.1499.

LaFont holds a 30-point lead in the Thunderhill standings over Shawn Paul Lehman of Manchaca.

For winning the national championship last year, Stapp received a tryout with Joe Gibbs Racing.

“We’ve always said that our drivers are our most important asset,” said Thunderhill media and public relations director Debbie Williams. “Having another driver from our track be a part of that same experience would mean a lot to all us. We really appreciate that ASA is giving our drivers – and drivers all over the country – this awesome opportunity.”

Joe Gibbs Driven Racing Oil, sponsor of the American Speed Association National Short Track National Championship, is the same oil developed and used by Joe Gibbs Racing. The team sells the oil so racers across the country can have access to the latest technology in racing lubricants.

Email Email | Print Print


0 thoughts on “Thunderhill hopes for national title repeat

  1. That would be awesome. Anyone who hasn’t been out to Thunderhill yet, ought to check it out. It’s tough to find more entertainment for $10.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *