San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas

June 22nd, 2009
Clement, Landaker, win PEC seats


Cristi Clement, Larry Landaker and Patrick Cox won election to the Pedernales Electric Cooperative board of directors in voting that ended on June 20.

Clement took a close race in District 1, receiving 7,713 votes against 7,605 for her nearest competitor, Mark A. Mayfield. Sandra P. Jenkins received 4.258 votes and Bill Wilcox took 2,812.

In more crowded and less right race, Landaker won District 6 with 5,152 votes. David Bethancourt finished second with 4,488 votes, followed by Linda Kaye Rogers (4,285), Daryl Losaw (3,385), Theresa Rourks (2,343) and Robbie Boone (2,271).

Clement moves into the seat vacated by Vi Cloud, while Landaker takes the seat vacated by Val Smith.

Cox, who won the District 7 seat year ago, ran unopposed in 2009.

Frank Fatone of Election Services Corporation announced 23,125 total votes were cast, including 19,315 by mail, 3,723 online, and 87 in person at the annual meeting. Fatone said 194,012 PEC members were eligible to vote in the election.

The new Board members will be seated on June 29 at a special organizational meeting at the Cooperative’s headquarters in Johnson City at 2 p.m.

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *