San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas
Email Email | Print Print --

June 19th, 2009
Two Bobcats make another All-American team


Texas State baseball players Paul Goldschmidt and Kane Holbrooks each was named to his third All-American team this season when each was selected by the American Baseball Coaches Association (ABCA) for the third team.

Texas State had never placed a baseball player on an All-American team before this season.

Recently named the Southland Conference Student-Athlete of the Year, Goldschmidt became the first player in league history to be awarded the Student-Athlete and Player of the Year in the same season. The Woodlands native turned in a record-setting season, amassing a career-high 18 home runs and 21 doubles along with a nation-best 88 RBI.

Goldschmidt earlier received All-American honors from Baseball America and Collegiate Baseball. He was also named to the ABCA South Central All-Region second team, along with first team honors by the Southland Conference, which also named him Hitter of the Year for the second time.

Goldschmidt was drafted in the eighth round of the 2009 MLB Draft by the Arizona Diamondbacks.

Holbrooks, a senior right-hander, concluded his season with Texas State as the ace of the staff with a 10-1 overall record in 16 appearances. The win total ties the fourth-best single season record in Bobcat history. Holbrooks compiled a 3.29 ERA in 101.1 innings and led the team with a career-high 57 strikeouts.

The Aledo native has a long list of accolades that include the 2009 Southland Conference Pitcher of the Year, second-team All-American honors by Collegiate Baseball and third team All-American honors by National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association, and a first-team nod to the ABCA South Central All-Region Team.

Holbrooks was selected in the 2009 MLB First-Year Player Draft by the Minnesota Twins.

The ABCA All-American teams are collegiate baseball’s oldest selections, dating to 1949. All Division I coaches have the opportunity to nominate and vote on these selections, which are initially compiled into eight All-Region teams.

The teams are then finalized as the first, second and third All-American teams by the ABCA’s NCAA Division I All-American and Coach of the Year Committee, chaired by Dean Ehehalt of Monmouth University (NJ). This year, the committee selected 65 players as 2009 ABCA All-Americans.

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *