San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas

March 19th, 2009
Historical commission welcomes new members

Front row, left to right: Mary Mattis, Ofelia Vasquez-Philo, Mary Giberson, Helena Goodson-Hauk, Kate Johnson, Bonnie Eissler, Betty Harrison. Back row, from left to right: Lu Hickey, Linda Coker, Bob Flocke, Linda Keese, Jim Cullen, LaMarr Petersen, Richard Kidd, Robert Frizzell and Marianne Moore. Not pictured are members Stephanie Cruz, Richard Gachot, Dorothy Gumbert, Shelley Henry, SarahAnn Lowther, Clemmie New, Zeke Palacios and Gary Rush.


The newest members of the Hays County Historical Commission (HCHC) met recently to set plans for the upcoming year.

Meeting in the Will Burnett courtroom in the Hays County Courthouse, the new members heard from HCHC Chair Kate Johnson, who told new members they would all soon know everything about how to apply for any historic designation, and become the arms and legs for the county, state and national historic trusts.

The new members were also encouraged by long-term members, like Ofelia Vasquez-Philo, who has served since the commission was created.

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.