San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas
Email Email | Print Print --

March 18th, 2009
Sheriff’s office honors its ‘Best of the Best’


Hays County Sheriffs Office honorees include , pictured left to right, Steve Treager, Sgt. Rick Villanueva, Detective Lenny Martinez, Sgt. Ronnie Strain, Jenny Acosta, Jonathon Akers, Corrections Officer Eliseo Gallarza, Corrections Officer Alfred Munos, Deputy Chris Normand and Deputy Alex Fernandez. (Below) Sheriff Tommy Ratliff presents Animal Control supervisor Frankie Cheatham with his award for outstanding support person and a five-year longevity pin.


The Hays County Sheriffs Office honored outstanding officers and employees during the annual Best of the Best Awards at the San Marcos Activity Center. Honorees are:

Corrections Officer of the Year
Officer Eliseo Gallarza

Deputy of the Year
Deputy Chris Normand

New Deputy of the Year
Deputy Alex Fernandez

New Corrections Officer
Officer Alfredo Munos

Supervisor of the Year
Sgt. Ronnie Strain

Corrections Supervisor
Sgt. Rick Villanueva

Detective of the Year
Det. Lenny Martinez

Jonathon Akers

Support Person
Frank Cheatham

Administrative Person
Jenny Acosta

A special award was presented to retired Reserve Deputy Steve Treager, who has volunteered countless hours to the Hays County Sheriff’s Office.

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *