San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas
Email Email | Print Print --

February 7th, 2009
Texas State teams win state speech and debate meet


Perhaps proving that the home advantage applies to any kind of competition, the Texas State speech and debate teams won first place sweepstakes honors at the Texas Intercollegiate Forensics Association Championships on their own campus Jan. 30-Feb. 1.

The Bobcats won out against a field of 15 colleges and universities from across the state, second place Texas-El Paso, third place Texas A&M,. and the University of Texas.

The LBJ Debate Society, the debate arm of Texas State’s team, took the first place debate sweepstakes. The Elton Abernathy Forensics Society, the individual events portion of the team, took second place individual events sweepstakes.

Individual standout performers for Texas State included  Laura Driver, a sophomore geography major from Portland, who was the top speaker in parliamentary debate. Luis Baez, a sophomore political science major from Houston, won top novice speaker in parliamentary debate. Ojiyoma Pinnock, a sophomore communication studies major from San Antonio, placed first in poetry interpretation.

Jaysin Spradley, a sophomore communication studies major from Boling, placed first in prose interpretation. The team of Ryan Reyes, a senior communication studies major from Austin, and Jonathan Stansbury, a junior communication studies major from Deer Park, took the top honors in duo dramatic interpretation. Stansbury and Jonathan Park, a sophomore from Beaumont, were the tournament’s first place debate team.

The team’s next competition will be a tournament hosted by Del Mar College and San Jacinto College in Corpus Christi.

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *