San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas
Email Email | Print Print --

February 7th, 2009
Donors pledge $6 million in support of Texas State campaign


A group of anonymous donors has pledged up to $6 million to match future gifts to the Pride in Action fund-raising campaign at Texas State University.

The gift was announced by university President Denise Trauth Saturday evening (Feb. 7) during the annual Alumni Association Scholarship Gala on the Texas State campus.

“These donors are very familiar with the university and our Pride in Action Campaign. They want our alumni and friends to join them in maximizing the impact of giving,” Trauth said.

During the campaign, donors are asked to contribute in support of five “pillars.” The campaign pillars are Academic Excellence, Performing Arts, Athletics, the Alumni Center and the Library.

The donors have agreed to match every gift of $10,000 or more (to a maximum of $6 million) between now and the completion of the campaign to a pillar of their choice.

Trauth said the gift “establishes momentum for the future of the university.”

“Without a doubt, we are in some difficult economic times, however, these anonymous challenges announced this evening are proof that neither fund-raising nor giving ceases during tough economic times,” she said.

Trauth called on alumni and friends of Texas State to “step up to the challenge that has been given us and encourage others to do the same.”

Several Texas State alumni received awards during the gala. Honored with the Alumni Achievement Award were Joni Hruska Fichter, co-owner and president of Career Placement, Inc.; Ronald Angelo Johnson, pastor of Badger Grover Community Baptist Church and veteran foreign service officer; Ramiro Martinez Jr., renowned scholar in the areas of immigration and crime and professor at Florida International University; Nancy Nusbaum, associate vice president for finance and support services at Texas State; James Streety, former highly successful football coach and current president of the Texas High School Coaches Association; and Michael Willoughby, dean of the Texas State Graduate College.

The Alumni Star Award was presented to Bill Poston for service to and support of the Texas State Alumni Association.

Michelle T. Brown, United Nations Representative for Refugees International in New York, received the association’s Walter Richter Humanitarian Award.

Association representatives also presented Alumni Scholars and announced the awarding of more than $100,000 in Texas State scholarships.


Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *