San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas

January 20th, 2009
Commissioners finish appointing shooting range committee


A proposal to build a firearm shooting range open to the public is picking up support as it makes its way through a citizens committee Hays County commissioners expanded on Tuesday.

The court during its regular Tuesday session completed formation of a committee charged with developing a plan for the Hays County Shooting Sports Complex, envisioned as a regional, multi-disciplined educational and training facility. Each of five court members — four commissioners and the county judge — appointed a shooting range committee member as follows:

  • County Judge Elizabeth Sumter – Charles Catt of Wimberley
  • Commissioner Debbie Ingalsbe – Richard Gillespie of San Marcos
  • Commissioner Jeff Barton – John Sanford of Mountain City
  • Commissioner Will Conley – Gary Conner of Dripping Springs
  • Commissioner Karen Ford – Mark Bennett of San Marcos

New appointees join five at-large members who have been serving since Dec. 23:

  • Stephen Marlow of San Marcos
  • J.B. Kolodzey of Buda
  • Herman Waters of Dripping Springs
  • Willy T. Ribbs of Dripping Springs
  • Tomas Mijares of San Marcos

The committee was sponsored in commissioners court by Pct. 2 Commissioner Jeff Barton, who has been at the forefront of gun issues in the urbanizing county after the accidental shooting death of seven-year-old Daniel Galicia. In March 2008, the court rejected 3-2 a proposal recommended by a citizens committee prohibiting the discharge of firearms in residential areas with small lots.

Email Email | Print Print


One thought on “Commissioners finish appointing shooting range committee

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *