- San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas - http://smmercury.com -

San Marcos CISD to honor trustees


In the spirit of Governor Rick Perry’s proclamation that January is School Board Recognition Month, the San Marcos CISD is holding a reception for its school board later this month.

Perry made his proclamation to build awareness of the function that school board members play in communities throughout Texas. More than 7,000 men and women across the state serve on community school boards.

“These public servants are elected to serve by local citizens and receive no compensation for their tireless efforts,” San Marcos CISD Superintendent Patty Shafer said. “School board members are extraordinary people who voluntarily tackle the enormous job of governing school districts. Their actions and decisions affect the present and future lives of all our children.”

The school district will hold a reception for the San Marcos school board on Jan. 26 at 5:30 p.m. in the San Marcos CISD central office board room. The host is the Superintendent’s Student Advisory Council, which consists of two student delegates from every campus.

Campus representatives will present each school board member with handmade student tributes and tokens of appreciation.

The school board will conduct its regular meeting at 6 p.m., following the reception. Shafer will present certificates to each of the district’s trustees.

The San Marcos school board is headed by President Judy Allen. Margie Villalpando is the vice president, and Kathy Hansen is the secretary. The other school board members are Peter Baen, Tom Brown, David Castillo and Jesse Ponce.

“Even though we are making a special effort during January to show appreciation to our school board members, we recognize their work reflects a year-round commitment,” Shafer said. “Every day trustees demonstrate strength and dedication as they focus on excellence for their district programs, their teachers, and most importantly their students.”

The San Marcos CISD trustees, from left to right, are David Castillo, Kathy Hansen, Judy Allen, Margie Villalpando, Jesse Ponce, Peter Baen. Tom Brown is in the insert.

No Comments (Open | Close)

No Comments To "San Marcos CISD to honor trustees"

#1 Comment By Iris Campbell On 01/09/2009 @ 12:54 pm

The reception to honor the school board members is Tuesday, January 20.Public is invited.
Thank you