San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas
Email Email | Print Print --

December 20th, 2008
Texas State defensive end Travis Houston named to the 11th annual Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association Academic All-Star Team

Texas State junior defensive end Travis Houston was listed among 43 winners of the 11th annual Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association Academic All-Star Team that was announced by the Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association (FCS ADA) Friday. Houston was among 79 total nominees for the award and the winners were announced at the FCS football championship in Chattanooga, Tenn.”The Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association looks forward to this annual academic all-star team announcement,” said Tim Van Alstine, chair of the Football Championship Subdivision Academic All-Star Team Selection Committee and athletics director at Western Illinois University. “Each year we honor outstanding players that represent the true meaning of the word student-athlete and this year is no different. We are proud of their accomplishments both in the classroom and on the field.”

Football players from all Football Championship Subdivision institutions are eligible for these prestigious awards. Each of the nominees was required to have a minimum grade point average of 3.20 (on a 4.00 scale) in undergraduate study and have been a starter or key player with legitimate athletics credentials. He must have reached his second year of athletics and academic standing at the nominated institution and have completed a minimum of one full academic year at the nominated institution. He must also have participated in 50 percent of the games played at his designated position.

Houston was a starting defensive end for the Bobcats when Texas State finished the season with an 8-5 record and won their first outright conference championship since 1983. He ranked fourth among Southland Conference leaders with seven sacks and was third among SLC leaders with 51 tackles for lost yardage. He also led the Bobcats with three fumble recoveries.

Houston has been named to the Dean’s list all four semesters in his collegiate career at Texas State and received the school’s Oak Farms Dairy Academic Award in 2006, 2007 and 2008. He also was named a Texas State Cream of the Crop winner with a perfect 4.0 GPA in 2007 and chosen for the Southland Conference Commissioner’s Honor Roll in 2006 and 2007. In addition, Houston was named to the 2007-08 Capital One/Southland Conference Football All-Academic Team and was a 2008 First-Team Arthur Ashe winner.

Houston is one of five Southland Conference players chosen to the FCS ADA Academic All-Star team. Joining him are Dudley Guice and Kendall Rodrigue of Northwestern State, Cory Long of Stephen F. Austin and Brant Linde of McNeese State.

Now in its 16th year, the Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association’s mission is to enhance Football Championship Subdivision football. The Association is administered by NACDA, which is now in its 44th year. NACDA is the professional and educational association for more than 6,500 college athletics administrators at more than 1,600 institutions throughout the United States, Canada and Mexico. More than 2,300 athletics administrators annually attend the NACDA Convention. For more information on the FCS ADA, please visit

by Rick Poulter
Texas State Athletics

Photo courtesy of Texas State Athletics

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *