San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas
Email Email | Print Print --

December 20th, 2008
Educators honored by city

Mayor Susan Narvaiz presents a team of innovators from Miller Junior High School with the City of San Marcos Educational Excellence Awards for the “iLearn Math” program assisting at-risk 8th graders. Students improved passing rates from 35% in 2007 to 71% in 2008, thanks to the new program. Ronda Stonecipher, Director of Instructional Technology, (second from right) won the “Innovator of the Year” award from T.H.E. Journal, an international publication dedicated to educational technology. L-R are Mayor Narvaiz, Monica Martin and Natalie Black, Math Teachers; Lisa Jones, Campus Technologist; Amanda Voigt, Math Department Head; Susan Brown, Principal; Ronda Stonecipher, and City Council Member John Melissa Millecam
City of San Marcos

Photo courtesy of the City of San Marcos

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *