San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas
Email Email | Print Print --

December 19th, 2008
City recognizes Miller Junior High innovators


Mayor Susan Narvaiz presents a team of innovators from Miller Junior High School with the City of San Marcos Educational Excellence Awards for the “iLearn Math” program assisting at-risk 8th graders. Students improved passing rates from 35 percent in 2007 to 71 percent in 2008, thanks to the new program. Ronda Stonecipher, Director of Instructional Technology, (second from right) won the “Innovator of the Year” award from T.H.E. Journal, an international publication dedicated to educational technology. L-R are Mayor Narvaiz; math teachers Monica Martin and Natalie Black; Lisa Jones, Campus Technologist; Amanda Voigt, Math department head;  principal Susan Brown; Ronda Stonecipher, and city councilmember John Thomaides.

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.