San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas
Email Email | Print Print --

October 25th, 2008
Texas State honors Distinguished Alumni

From Texas State University

Texas State University honored four former students with the Distinguished Alumni Award for 2008 on Oct. 18 during Homecoming festivities.

The 2008 Distinguished Alumni are Paul W. “Chip” Carlisle , Jr., ’71; Debs Eugene Cofer, ’59 and ’60; Douglas Foshee, ’82; and Carolynn Seay Vietor, ’68.

About the 2008 Distinguished Alumni

  • Paul W. “Chip” Carlisle, Jr., of Houston, a 1971 Texas State business administration graduate, is president of the Texas region for Wells Fargo Bank, overseeing more than 500 branches and 8,000 employees. Under his leadership, Wells Fargo has been named one of the 50 best companies to work for in Texas by Texas Monthly, the Texas Association of Businesses and the Texas State Council of the Society of Human Resources Management in 2005 and 2006. The Better Business Bureau also honored Wells Fargo in 2007.
  • Debs Eugene Cofer of Brazosport, a 1959 chemistry and mathematics graduate with a M.S in chemistry earned in 1960, currently serves on the executive boards of three foundations: Brazosport Health Foundation, Brazoria County Community Foundation, and Texas State Development Foundation. Prior to starting a management consulting firm in 1992, Cofer worked for Dow Chemical for 33 years, holding a variety of positions including vice president of the Pacific Division in Hong Kong and the Eastern Division in Cleveland.
  • Douglas Foshee of Houston, a 1982 business administration graduate, is president and CEO of El Paso Corporation, overseeing the largest integrated natural gas company in North America. Prior to joining El Paso in 2003, Foshee was the chief operating officer and executive vice president for Halliburton. Foshee serves on the board of many organizations including the Small Steps Nurturing Center , Goodwill Industries of Houston, the Kipp Academy and the Texas Business Hall of Fame Foundation. He was the recipient of the Ellis Island Medal of Honor in 2007.
  • Carolynn Seay Vietor of Philipsburg, Mont., a 1968 home economics graduate, won two national intercollegiate rodeo regional titles and the Reserve World Champion Goat Tying Championship while at Texas State. In 1985, Vietor was elected to the Women’s Professional Rodeo Association (WPRA) Northern Circuit Board of Directors and served for 11 years before being appointed as the president of WPRA. Vietor was named as the WPRA’s Woman of the year in 2000, the Pioneer Woman of the Year, and winner of the Heritage Award in 2003.

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *