San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas
Email Email | Print Print --

August 26th, 2008
Hays County Blog: Marriage license fee increasing to $72

The following statement was issued by Hays County Clerk Linda Fritsche:

Beginning Sept. 1, the fee for a Hays County marriage license will increase to $72.

The legislature passed HB 2685 last session which authorizes a statewide initiative to promote “Healthy Marriages”. The healthy marriage initiative in Texas promotes free marriage education classes that provide eight hours of training on communication skills, conflict resolution and other elements of a healthy marriage. The certificate is good for one year and serves as proof that the couple is eligible for the discounted marriage license fee.

Beginning September 1, the couples who take the courses and are provided a certificate by the approved providers will have the added benefit of having $60.00 of the marriage license fee waived and can forgo the 72 hour waiting period to get married. The only cost to the couple who have the certification is $12.00 instead of the new fee of $72.00. Those who do not take the course will pay $72.00 for a marriage license.

COUPLES CAN FIND CLASSES IN THEIR AREA BY CALLING 2-1-1 or 1-800-396-4611.

Email Email | Print Print

--

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

:)