San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas

July 2nd, 2008
Texas State Places 78 on Commissioner's Honor Roll

Total is second-highest mark in Southland

FRISCO – Texas State placed 78 student-athletes on the Southland Conference Commissioner’s Spring Academic Honor Roll, league offices announced Wednesday.

Included on the list was a pair of SLC Student-Athletes. Joyce Ekworomadu was one of five Texas State women’s basketball players named to the honor roll while Paul Goldschmidt highlighted nine Bobcat baseball players selected.

Sam Houston State led all conference member institutions with 89 selections. Texas-Arlington placed 77 student-athletes on the list while a trio of SLC East schools also had at least 70 student-athletes as Central Arkansas claimed 74, Southeastern Louisiana 71 and McNeese State 70 people.

Northwestern State (65), Nicholls State (63) and UTSA (61) each pulled in over 60 members to the honor roll. Rounding out the league’s recipients were Lamar (56), Stephen F. Austin (53) and Texas A&M-Corpus Christi (41).

Presented by Capital One Bank, the honor roll recognizes student-athletes who competed in league championship sports during the spring semester and maintained a 3.0 grade point average while enrolled in a minimum of 12 hours. Each Southland university is responsible in selecting the student-athletes for the spring honor roll.

The complete list of Texas State student-athletes on the SLC Commissioner’s Spring Academic Honor Roll is:

Amanda Alvarado, Lainy Chafitz, Ashley Ellis, Mackenzie Farmer, Andrea Giraldo, Ali Gulida, Rabea Hartmann, Jennifer Nowland, Christine Brijalba, Amy Glazier, Linn Gustafsson, Trine Mortensen, Ben Campbell, Philip Krebsbach, Cole Lewis, Oscar Zetterwall, Leah Boatright, Kelsey Cammarata, Elizabeth Dennis, Lacey Duncan, Jenna Emery, Taylor Hall, Jill Kloesel, Alex Newton, Ashton Peters, Allyce Rother, Kristina Tello, Jetta Weinheimer, Jarrod Buddin, Nicholas Fowler, Jack Higginbotham, Matthew Novak, Daniel Schmidt, Kevin Schultz, Liat Anav, Courtney Baker, Heather Bullin, Tenley Determan, Brooklyn Dickson, Jannah Evans, Katie Evans, Samantha Evola, Alaysha Ford, Brooke Hewitt, Taylor Hubbard, Heather Martinez, Jiovanna Martinez, Lindsay Maxwell, Lauren McKenna, Amanda McKinney, Mary O’Connor, Sara Olayiwola, Erin Oliver, Whitney Perkins, Karissa Reiter, Veronica Rodriguez, Brittany Rosen, Kristina Viniar, Jamie Whiteside, Tyler Brundridge, Cody Gambill, Paul Goldschmidt, Steven Siers, Aaron Taylor, Ben Theriot, Zach Tritz, Steven Vidaurri, Adam Witek, Corey Jefferson, Jonathan Sloan, Gordon Taylor, Ryan White, Brooke DeGrate, Joyce Ekworomadu, Marie Moser, Chika Ofoegbu and Shandryn Trumble.

Assistant Sports Information Director

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.