San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas
Email Email | Print Print --

May 19th, 2008
Southland Conference Announces F.L. McDonald Postgraduate Scholarship Winners

FRISCO, Texas – Texas A&M-Corpus Christi baseball student-athlete Paul Saville and Texas State softball student-athlete Jill Kloesel have been awarded the Southland Conference’s F.L. McDonald Postgraduate Scholarships, presented by Capital One Bank. Both student-athletes will be celebrated during the Southland Honors Ceremony on May 29 in Galveston, Texas.

The McDonald Scholarship is the league’s ultimate academic honor for its top graduates. The award is presented annually to graduating male and female letterwinners with the highest cumulative grade point averages during their enrollment at Southland member schools. The $2,500 scholarship must be applied to graduate study at an institution of the recipient’s choice.

“We are very pleased to announce this year’s McDonald Scholarship Awards, and Paul and Jill have proven themselves as model student-athletes during their academic and athletic careers,” Southland Conference commissioner Tom Burnett said.

As an undergraduate, Saville posted a perfect 4.0 in psychology, and plans to continue his education with a master’s degree in kinesiology. His future plans include becoming a sports psychologist, strength and conditioning coach or physical education instructor.

At A&M-Corpus Christi, Saville has been on the Athletic Director’s Honor Roll and a member of Phi Theta Kappa Honors Society for the past two years. He has a career .270 batting average and has scored 26 runs.

Before coming to the Islanders, he began his academic career at Cerro Coso Community College, where he was on the Dean’s List for eight semesters, was a member of Phi Theta Kappa Honors Society and received the Fire Mountain Foundation Award, given to the athlete with the highest grade point average. He was also named preseason All-American there and was the team’s captain in 2006.

Kloesel finished her collegiate career with a perfect 4.0 GPA in athletic training with a pre-physical therapy emphasis. She has been a dean’s list student and has been named to the SLC Commissioner’s Honor Roll. Named Texas State’s Scholar Athlete of the Year, Kloesel will be a member of the first new class of Texas State’s physical therapy doctorate program.

One of only two four-year seniors on the 2008 Bobcat squad, Kloesel’s future plans include working as a physical therapist upon receiving her DPT.

The award was established in memory of Dr. F.L. McDonald in 1996-97, a former president of Lamar University and 1999 Southland Hall of Honor inductee. McDonald served as Lamar’s president in 1963 when the Southland Conference was established and is considered one of the league’s founding fathers.

Each member institution may nominate one male and one female student-athlete who meet the following criteria: a letterwinner in a conference sport, be on track to graduate during the spring in which they are nominated or the subsequent summer, and plan to attend graduate school no later than the second fall following the receipt of the award.

Recognition is also in order for the league’s scholar-athletes of the year. The annual awards are presented to the outstanding male and female individuals at each Southland school as determined by their respective institution administrators. To be eligible, students must be a letter winner with a 3.2 grade point average and have acquired at least two years of intercollegiate competition at the school from which he/she was nominated.

Assistant Media Relations Director

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.