San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas
Email Email | Print Print --

May 19th, 2008
Regents name four professors emeriti

From Texas State University

Four former Texas State University faculty members have been named Distinguished Professor Emeriti of the university by the Texas State University System Board of Regents.

Meeting May 15 and 16 on the Texas State campus, the regents voted to honor John J. Beck, Lydia A. Blanchard, Daniel L. Hannon and Michael H. McBride.

Beck was designated Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Educational Administration and Psychological Services and Dean of the College of Education .

Beck served as dean of Texas State ’s College of Education from 1990 until 2005, and as professor in the Department of Educational Administration and Psychological Services from 1979 until 2007.

Beck has a lengthy record of service to the university, the community and the state. In 2000, he was appointed by then Gov. George Bush to be the sole higher education representative on the State Board of Educator Certification. He has received the Robert Howsam Award for Outstanding Leadership, Innovation and Dedication to Education, the Kyle Killough Award for Outstanding Contribution to Education, the Ted Booker Award for Leadership in Teacher Education Policy and the Distinguished Service Award for Outstanding Contributions to the Professional Field of Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance. In 2004, he was named a Distinguished Alumnus of Texas State.

Blanchard was named Distinguished Professor of English Emerita.

Blanchard has served on the Texas State English faculty for 24 years. She served as chair of the English Department for 12 years.

During her tenure as department chair, the English Department added an acclaimed master’s degree program in creative writing, a master’s in technical writing, a redesigned and strengthened master’s degree in literature and transformed the undergraduate English degree program. She served as director of planning for the College of Liberal Arts , director of the Office of Multicultural and Gender Studies, acting director of the Center for the Study of the Southwest and co-chair of the President’s Council for Women.

Hannon was awarded the title of Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Theatre.

Hannon came to Texas State in 1981 and established the bachelor of fine arts degree in theatrical design and technology, a program that is nationally recognized today.

In addition to teaching and mentoring thousands of students during his career, Hannon receive numerous awards for his work from such organizations as the Texas Educational Theatre Association, the Southwest Theatre Association, the American Theatre Association and the United States Institute for Theatre Technology. His theatrical designs have been featured in numerous exhibitions around the nation, and many of his designs have been acquired by the Tobin Theatrical Design Collection at the McNay Art Museum in San Antonio .

McBride was awarded the title of Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Journalism and Mass Communication.

McBride spent 18 of his 30 years as an educator at Texas State . During that time, he served as chair of the Department of Journalism and Mass Communication, helped lead the Texas State American Advertising Federation team to district and national recognition, was awarded a coveted Fulbright Scholarship and served as an international ambassador for Texas State and American higher education.

McBride was a pioneer in the expansion of the School of Journalism and Mass Communication to Texas State ’s Round Rock Higher Education Center, where he continues to share his expertise with students.

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.