San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas
Email Email | Print Print --

May 12th, 2008
Duane Toyne claims feature win in the ASA A-Line Super Stocks

Three different drivers visit the Winner’s Circle in the Thunderhill Raceway Super Stock Class

KYLE, TX (May 13, 2008) – The ASA A-Line Super Stocks have been showing the fans some great racing action at Thunderhill Raceway (Kyle, TX). This past weekend’s feature race was no exception.

Seventeen drivers lined up for the Thunderhill Raceway (THR) 40-lap feature event on Saturday, May 10 – including two of the previous race winners – Shawn Paul Lehman from Manchaca (TX) on April 12 and Mark Mathias from San Antonio (TX) on April 26.

Duane Toyne from Leander (TX) started on the inside of the fifth row in the ninth position. On Lap 9, Toyne and Mickey McKim from Manchaca (TX) made contact, but both drivers were able to maintain their positions.

During several lead changes, Toyne managed to work his way to the front. On Lap 32, Toyne passed Matt Hodge from Kyle (TX) and claimed the lead. He held off the 2007 Super Stock champion Cary Stapp from San Marcos (TX) for the remaining laps.

In other racing action, Carolyn Aramendia from Seguin (TX) claimed the Grand Stock feature win. Aramendia also won the April 26 Grand Stock feature race, and she now tops the points’ race for the Grand Stock class.

Gary Chancellor from Bastrop (TX) claimed his first feature win of the 2008 racing season in the Thunder Stock class, while Brian Kyempel claimed yet another victory in the NasKarts.

Tom Johnson from Kingsland (TX) grabbed the early lead in the 20-lap Texas Pro Sedan race and held on for his first victory of the 2008 season. Shawn Cannon from Forney (TX) started on the pole of the Allison Legacy Race Series 50-lap event and maintained the lead throughout the entire race.

Jim Albert from Lockhart (TX) continued to dominate the Pro Truck class and notched his second victory in the Pro Trucks at THR this season. H.E. Naumann from Del Valle (TX) proudly made his way to the Winner’s Circle following his victory in the ExpressJet Pro Modified 50 Race.

The next race scheduled for Thunderhill Raceway will be held on Saturday, May 24, starting at 7:00 p.m. The racing action will feature the Thunderhill Raceway ASA A-Line Super Stocks, Thunder Stocks, Grand Stocks and NasKarts – along with the Pro Trucks, ExpressJet Pro Modifieds, Dwarf Car Racing Series of Texas and the Lone Star Legends and Bandoleros.

Thunderhill Raceway is a 3/8-mile, asphalt D-shaped oval track that’s located at 24801 IH-35, just north of San Marcos (TX) near Yarrington Road (Exit #210).

By Debbie Williams
Public Relations Director

To read a full re-cap of the events at Thunderhill Raceway, check out this link here.

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.