San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas
Email Email | Print Print --

May 7th, 2008
Southland Conference Announces 2008 All-SLC Softball Teams

Bobcats tally 12 awards, Blake named Player and Pitcher of the Year

FRISCO – The Texas State softball team added a bevy of individual honors to its 2008 regular season title on Thursday as eight Bobcat players were named All-Southland Conference and Ragan Blake was named the SLC Player of the Year.

McKenzie Baack was voted Hitter of the Year while Ricci Woodard earned Coach of the Year honors, and Blake also took home the Pitcher of the Year award. Baack hit .400 in conference play and finished the year with a .348 average while also leading the Bobcats with eight home runs and 24 RBIs. She is the third Texas State player to win the award and first since Kristen Zaleski captured back-to-back Hitter of the Year honors in 2003 and 2004.

Blake won her second straight Pitcher of the Year honor after going 20-10 with a 2.26 ERA and 183 strikeouts in 191.2 innings. She joins Katie Ann Trahan as the only Bobcat players to win both SLC Player and Pitcher of the Year in the same season.

Woodard’s Coach of the Year award is the third in her eight seasons at Texas State. The Bobcats defeated a pair of nationally ranked teams and finished with their second-highest win total in SLC play after a 35-17 regular season record and 25-5 mark in league play.

In addition to her individual awards, Blake was the lone Texas State representative on the All-SLC First Team, but six Bobcats were voted to the All-SLC Second Team. Leah Boatright tied Baack for the team lead in RBIs and tallied 13 doubles while batting .368 in conference at first base while Ali McCormack hit .327 with four homers and 16 RBIs against SLC opponents.

Ashton Peters, Jetta Weinheimer and Kristina Tello also each made the second team. Peters hit .355 with 16 RBIs at catcher, Weinheimer .316 with two homers and 13 RBIs and Tello .298 with 23 runs in SLC play. Baack was also named as the All-SLC Second Team’s designated player.

Alex Newton also earned All-Conference honors by being named to the Third-Team, hitting .359 with 17 RBIs and five stolen bases while starting all 30 SLC games at shortstop.

Texas State led all teams with eight All-SLC selections. Texas-Arlington placed four players on the three All-SLC teams while Stephen F. Austin and UTSA each had four. Individually, Stephen F. Austin’s Monika Covington won Freshman of the Year after leading the league in strikeouts with 232, Jenny Clay of McNeese State was named Utility Player of the Year after hitting .382 and Texas A&M-Corpus Christi’s Kim Connelly was named Newcomer of the Year after hitting .357 with 38 RBI in the regular season.

The Bobcats begin their quest for even more hardware with the 2008 Southland Conference Tournament that begins Thursday, May 8. Texas State will play Friday, May 9, at 6:30 p.m. in one of two semifinal games while the title game will be Saturday, May 10, at 4 p.m. The winner receives the Southland Conference’s automatic berth in the NCAA Softball Championship Tournament.

Assistant Media Relations Director

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.