San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas

May 1st, 2008
Hays CISD picks teachers of the year


The Hays CISD has selected its teachers of the year from each campus for the 2007-08 school year. The winners will be honored during a May 9 luncheon at the Onion Creek Country Club, sponsored by the Hays CISD Education Foundation.

A teacher from each of 17 campuses, plus one special education teacher, is honored annually. The honorees are selected by their peers.

The school district also will select an elementary teacher of the year and a secondary teacher of the year for regional and statewide Teacher of the Year competitions sponsored by the Texas Education Agency (TEA). In the past six years, three Hays CISD teachers – Jim Cullen, Renee Herrington and Paige Collier – have represented Central Texas in the statewide contests.

Following are the campus teachers of the year for each Hays CISD school:

Tracy Mulligan, Kyle Elementary School.
Betty Nash, Elm Grove Elementary School.
Jamie Huston, Buda Elementary School.
Jamie Griggs, Tom Green Elementary School.
Janice Mangrum, Fuentes Elementary School.
JoAnn Zavala, Hemphill Elementary School.
Mary Ellen Lewis, Negley Elementary School.
Patty Jones, Science Hall Elementary School.
Lucila Bosquez, Tobias Elementary School.
David Hall, Wallace Middle School.
Lorenzo Pool, Dahlstrom Middle School.
Elaine Rackley, Barton Middle School.
Jason Younts, Chapa Middle School.
Danielle Zweschper, Hays High School.
Ryan Neuhaus, Lehman High School.
Joseph Bennett, The Academy@Hays.
Evelyn Gamble, The Impact Center.
Denise Minton, Special Education.

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.